Pennsylvania Wrestling News  









Bill Welker's book - The Sparrow's Spirit: A Champion Wrestler's Lifetime Reflections on Prayer and Perseverance - is the WINNER in the sports category in the 6th Annual Beverly Hills Book Awards Contest. 


PAWF Girls' Wrestling Newsletter (July 3, 2018 - Joe Stabilito)

Dave Hoffman named head coach at The Hill School.

New Head Coaches

Bedford - Joel Easter

Norwin - Vince DeAugustine
Grove City - Wes Phipps
Seneca - Ryan Murphy

Susquenita - TBA  (Rusty Wallace retired)

Muncy - Royce Eyer



Wilkes Open 1961
I am starting to compile all of the Wilkes Open entries/brackets/placers.
I would appreciate any and all help.. old news clips, brackets, etc.


PIAA State TEAM Updates and Summaries


Photos of PIAA TEAM Championships



Photos below



   Outstanding Wrestler - 2A - Gavin Teasdale, Jefferson Morgan


 Outstanding Wrestler - 3A -

Sammy Sasso, Nazareth


Teague Moore - makes presentations for Keystone Wrestling Round-Up



Dave Crowell, Sammy Sasso, Teague Moore




          Most Falls - 2A - Gavin Hoffman, Montoursville


      Most Falls - 3A - Sam Hillegas, North Hills





********************  PIAA 2A Individual Champions 2018 ***************


********************  PIAA 3A Individual Champions 2018 ****************


Rich Vetock of Tom's PA Wrestling presents Wrestling USA Magazine's
'Person-of-the-Year' award to Ann Peery Ritter.


Amateur Wrestling News' Jim Kalin has written a book about wrestling icon Mike Milkovich.

    This a book all wrestling fans will want to read.  Check out the press release here.

    Info for purchasing...

 Counting your 22 Contests

A PIAA member school is permitted to participate in a maximum of twenty-two (22) Regular Season wrestling Contests based on the following method of counting Regular Season wrestling Contests:

a. One (1) Contest for each dual meet.

b. Two (2) Contests for each triangular meet or each individually or Team bracketed Tournament involving no more than 8 Teams, pursuant to NFHS Wrestling Rule 10, Conduct of Tournaments, Section 3, Tournament Brackets.

c. Three (3) Contests for each quadrangular meet, each individually or Team bracketed Tournament involving at least 9 Teams, pursuant to NFHS Wrestling Rule 10, Conduct of Tournaments, Section 3, Tournament Brackets, and each one-day Multiple School (Dual) Event or Individual Pool Event. A PIAA member school may participate in no more than two (2) Multiple School (Dual) or Individual Pool Events, excluding triangular or quadrangular meets, during the Regular Season.

d. Multiple day Combination Tournament competition points and/or multiple day Multiple School (Dual) Event competition points are the aggregate of b and/or c herein.

e. All of the foregoing must be compliant with NFHS Wrestling Rule 1, Competition, Section 4, Representation, Article 3, which provides for no wrestler to represent that wrestler’s school in more than one weight class in any meet or wrestle in more than five matches (championship or consolation), excluding forfeits in any one day.


2017-2018 Rule Changes and commentary 


New head coaches 2017-2018

Ben Clymer - Faith Christian Academy

Ron Swingle, Jr.- Berwick

David Luthy - Plymouth Whitemarsh

Dave Krantz - Pittston Area.

Ross Myers - Blue Mountain

Steve Adam - Upper Perkiomen

Josh Haines - Pocono Mountain East.

Jim McCabe - Tamaqua

Mike Griffith - Hanover Area.

Brandan Clark - Phoenixville
Josh Anspach - Milton

Dee Evans - Steelton-Highspire

Tony Gish - Susquehanna Twp.

Jason Foor - Milton Hershey  (assistants will be Ed Neiswender and Dan Ireland)
Billy Chamberlain - Manheim Central

Joe Russo - Catasaqua

Buck Watkins - Frazier

Mike Egan - Shikellamy

Bryan Smith - Palasades (Dan Putnam asst) 

Mike Ottinger was named head coach at Parkland; Ryan Nunamaker has resigned.
John Walizer has been named the HWC at Hempfield (Dist 3)
Tim Andrekovich  takes over at Bellwood-Antis
Corey Fetterolf is new HC @ North Schuylkill.
Jeff Havelka - Canon McMillan
Chucky Connor - Conwell Egan.
Nick LaFevre  - Emmaus
Jeff 'Peanut' Bowyer -  Coatesville
Christian Harr - Hollidaysburg

Jason Gibble at Wilson West Lawn

Tim Simon -  McDowell

 Matt Musselman - Claysburg-Kimmel 
 Chris Voshell -
Cedar Crest
 Sal Lascari - Berlin BrothersValley

  Not new but I neglected to amke the change in my database last year.. shout out to Terry Tate at Tyrone.
  Floyd Brown
is at Lehighton  (Thanks to Sean McMahon)

          (Please let Tom know of other changes. THANK YOU!)     



               Back to        PA Wrestling main page